Tags

, , , , , , , ,

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I hope and pray that this new year has been beautiful for you and your loved ones so far. It has been great for me. My husband has been off work for two weeks and I absolutely love having him here with the kids and me 🙂 Unfortunately, all three of my kids had the flu (I’m talking 104 fevers!), but they got over it quickly and they’re back to driving me crazy normal.

So, onto my first blog post of 2014!

I thought it would be fun to give a glimpse into how I shop because I absolutely enjoy shopping and I am super cheap frugal! I like quality items, but I refuse to pay full price for certain (many) things because it’s just not worth it.

I prefer to shop online because I don’t have to worry about my kids running off and hiding in between clothing racks, getting restless, asking for everything they see. I’m saving a little gas… you get my point, right?

For some things I do prefer to shop in-store because in-store sales can be better than online and sometimes not, but also by shopping in-store, you don’t have to return or exchange clothing for a different size because you have the ability to try it on in the store, and you can see and feel the quality of something before you buy, but being able to read reviews online helps tremendously!

I have made some great in-store purchases since Christmas, but today I’ll be sharing three of my favorite recent online purchases. First up is an online purchase I made on the Children’s Place website a couple days after Christmas. They had a wonderful sale offering 30% off AND free shipping. I love C.P. because they always have great sales and I haven’t had any issues with their clothing for my kids.

A cropped screenshot of my receipt:

CPPurchase1

I just received this order in the mail today and I am very pleased (as usual). The studded leggings are better than I expected! They have tiny silver studs all over them, even the plaid top has studs on the pockets. The pullover is for my 2-year-old, the size 3T (his current size) was out of stock, but he’ll be able to wear the 4T later this year. It’s so cute I didn’t want to pass it up! I’m in the process of stocking up on new clothing for fall 2014 and winter 2014-2015. My 4-year-old starts Kindergarten this year so I’ve been purchasing 5/6 clothing for him for the coming school year. I like to buy clothing out of season and mid-late season because things are so much cheaper!

What’s funny is that I was just in the store the day before I made this purchase. I had a $20 gift card and I got some GREAT deals. I bought my son a couple pair of jeans, my daughter 2 shirts and a gorgeous navy blue sequin skirt. I used a 30% off coupon 🙂

Purchase #2 at 6pm.com:

Sperrys6pm

This is my third purchase from 6pm.com. I had been eyeing these shoes for a couple months and almost purchased them at the 6pm.com asking price of $49.99, ($64.99 on the Sperry website) but I was waiting for the price to go down. I’m SO glad I waited! They were $20.14 on New Year’s Day and there was an additional 10% off for the first 10,000 customers. Woop! Woop! I haven’t received them in the mail yet. I can’t wait  to rock these in nice Spring and Fall weather 🙂

*I read on Amazon that these shoes run small so I ordered half a size up.

Purchase #3 at BodyCentral.com:

I received a gift card from my magnificent mother for Christmas to B.C. and I couldn’t wait to use it! There was a good sale after Christmas, 30% off sale items, but I just knew that Body Central could do better than that and I had a gut feeling that it would be on New Year’s Day. I was correct! They were offering 50% off sale and clearance items AND free shipping (I refuse to pay for shipping! It ruins the deals) and the items they had listed weren’t to shabby. So… about that receipt… It doesn’t show photos of the items and my items haven’t come in the mail yet so I’ll just have show later (stay tuned!), but I’ll tell now 🙂

Gold brushed denim jacket- $14.99

Camo anorak jacket- $7.49

Stripe chiffon open back hi-low top- $7.49

Single button blazer (Khaki)- $9.50

Now if you haven’t shopped at Body Central before I would suggest you purchase with caution. Some of their products are not good quality, but some are, it just depends on what you get. I purchased a couple of long sleeved tees from the site a couple months ago when there was a bogo (buy one get one) free sale on tees and tanks and they weren’t the best quality. They’re still wearable and cute fitted, just not what I expected. They’re paper thin and they shrunk a little bit after washing.

Bonus addition:

Less than $9.99 at JCPenney in-store.

shoesjoefresh

People who are very close to me know that I LOVE JCPenney. I don’t know exactly why, there’s multiple reasons, I suppose, but that is my go to store! I bought my boys these gorgeous shoes the day after Christmas (my two-year-old is wearing his as I type). I bought them one full size up from their current shoe sizes. The price tag says $9.99, but I know I got them cheaper (can’t find the receipt!) because I had purchased something for myself as well so I was able to use my $15 off $25 purchase coupon. When I got home I got the bright idea that I should have bought another pair for each, two sizes up for after they grow out of these, but it’s alright. Target has a similar pair that I’m waiting to go on sale. I may just go back to JCP though because I earned a $10 reward I want to use!

Well! Thank you for stopping by to check me out and I hope you enjoyed seeing how I shop and I really hope you subscribe to my blog and stay tuned for more to come! 🙂

